Governor Appoints YRMC Official To State Board

Posted: Sunday, April 27, 2014 5:15 pm | Updated: 10:09 pm, Sun Apr 27, 2014.

By Mara Knaub

Gov. Jan. Brewer has appointed a local physician to serve on the Arizona Medical Board.

Dr. Ed Paul, director of medical education at Yuma Regional Medical Center, joins longtime member and fellow YRMC physician Dr. Ram Krishna in representing the community.

The Arizona State Senate selected Paul to serve on the board, and the governor appointed him.

“It was truly an honor to have been nominated by colleagues in family medicine from around Arizona. Serving on the AMB is a privilege and comes with the responsibility of protecting public safety,” Paul said.

“As a new Arizona Medical Board member, I am excited to have the opportunity to more fully understand and contribute to the processes of licensing, regulation and education of physicians.”

Pat Walz, YRMC president and CEO, praised Paul for his “exemplary representative of YRMC and our community.”

He added, “Dr. Paul is a mentor to the physicians in our residency program, which he founded alongside Dr. James Lenhart in 2009. His service to this hospital, our community and state is both appreciated and admired.”

Paul recently served as president of the Arizona Academy of Family Physicians and is a board member, national delegate and chair of the Legislative Affairs Task Force for that organization.

He also serves on the Advisory Council of the National Center for Medical Legal Partnership based at George Washington University in Washington, D.C.

In 2012, Paul was awarded the prestigious honor of Arizona Academy of Family Physicians Physician of the Year. He is a graduate from Southern Illinois University School of Medicine and completed his residency training at St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center in Phoenix.

The mission of the Arizona State Board is to protect public safety through the judicious licensing, regulation and education of all physicians.

The organization licenses and regulates more than 22,430 physicians. Of those, about 13,508 practice in the state.

The board is comprised of 12 members: eight physicians and four public members, including a licensed registered nurse.